Four new appointees announced to Ofwat board


Ofwat has announced four new non-executive Directors to its Board, following a joint process by Defra and the Welsh Government.

The appointments, made by the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, come as two non-executive members of Ofwat’s Board – Christine Farnish and Martin Lawrence – come to the end of their terms and will be stepping down at the end of the month.

Jonson Cox, Chair of Ofwat, commented on the announcement: “I am really pleased to welcome all our new colleagues to the Board.

“Ofwat’s job entails balancing the interests of customers and investors, immediate and longer term priorities and holding water and wastewater providers to account for meeting their customers’ needs.

“Our four new NEDs collectively bring a range of skills and experience that will provide support and challenge to Ofwat and will ensure that Ofwat continues to be led by a strong and effective board.”

The four new non-executive members are:

Nicola Bruce (Image by Ofwat)

Nicola Bruce is on the Board of the Anchor Hanover Group, the UK’s largest provider of housing and care for older people. She also sits on the Board of CS Healthcare, a mutual private health insurer, where she chairs the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Risk & Governance Committee. She is also on the Board of Wings Travel Management where she is a member of the Audit & Risk Committee.

Ms Bruce was previously on the Board of the Government’s Money Advice Service, where she chaired the Investment Committee, supporting the merger of Money Advice with Pension Wise and The Pension Advisory Service in 2018.

David Jones (Image by Ofwat)

David Jones’ background is in software and digital technology where he has worked with several technology organisations on both strategy, investment and governance, including on the management of cybersecurity risks. He has also been CEO and Executive Chair of two successful software start-ups.

Mr Jones also holds non-executive Director roles at Ofcom and Qualifications Wales, and has recently held similar roles at the Aneurin Bevan University Health Board and the Welsh Revenue Authority.

Seema Kennedy OBE (Image by Ofwat)

Seema Kennedy’s background is in corporate law and business. Between 2015 and 2019 she was MP for South Ribble before standing down at the last election. As an MP she was Public Health Minister, Immigration Minister and Co-Chair of the Jo Cox Commission on Loneliness.

Ms Kennedy is currently the CEO of a charity which works to protect against gambling harms and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Public Health.

Jonathan Kini (Image by Ofwat)

Jonathan Kini is currently the Managing Director of TalkTalk Business. Prior to this, he has held senior roles in Virgin Media and Vodafone across both B2C and B2B, and most recently worked for Drax Plc as CEO of its Customer Businesses. He is also an advisor to the Bank of England.

Mr Kini currently chairs the Business in the Community Net Zero Carbon Taskforce.